In Honor of My Mother

IMG

You might be wondering why I’m writing about my mother on a leadership blog. I feel that as leaders, we always need to have a source of inspiration … a role model, a mentor, and a friend. My mother was and will always be all those things and then some. As leaders, we also need not be reluctant to expose our humanity. Our ability to honor and celebrate the important people in our lives will allow us to treat others with kindness, respect and understanding.

It’s been 25 years since I lost my beautiful mother. I never realized how dramatically different my life would be without her. My mother was my best friend, the one person I trusted with all my heart. I did not only love her dearly, I highly respected her. Today, on Mother’s Day, I honor my mother for all she’s been through and for everything she stood for.

My mother faced many challenges in her life. She spent years struggling through an abusive marriage, suffered constantly with arthritis, and she finally succumbed to the relentless wrath of breast cancer. Despite her many days and nights of agony and pain, my mother was very ambitious and outgoing. She studied at home and earned her American high school diploma. She opened a small business in the Flee Market. She was a skilled seamstress and she operated an at-home tailoring business. While feeling weak from the Chemo treatment, she insisted on sewing my engagement dress.

My mother had a lot of courage and determination. She had grit and resilience. Her kindness was bountiful and she always went out of her way to help others. Her love for her family and friends gave her strength to fight till the end. And my mother was well-loved and respected by everyone in her life.

Today, I feel that I’m an embodiment of my mother. I inherited a lot of her characteristics. More importantly, I learned from her to have faith and courage to follow my dream. I honor my mother for all the lessons she had taught me. I honor her for helping me feel proud of who I am. I honor her for inspiring me to keep going and having hope in tomorrow.

If you are privileged enough to have your mother in your life, don’t let a moment pass without acknowledging everything she’s done for you. Don’t let an opportunity go by without “showing” her how much you love her. I didn’t realize what an important part of my life my mother was until she was gone.

No one can fill the huge void that you left in my life, mother. I love you Mom and I always will…

2 thoughts on “In Honor of My Mother

  1. This brought tears to my eyes. It is a beautiful piece to honor your mother with. Yes, your mother was all that. That’s how I remember her. I’m sure she’s looking down on you now very proud of the woman you have become 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting and reading the posts on my blog!

